Lötschberger country

The Piedmont region

Benvenuti – and much pleasure in exploring this beautiful region!

The charming region of Piedmont, home to the foothills of the Alps, lies south of Valais. The northern part of the region is shaped by babbling brooks, pristine nature, impressive valleys, but also the lively goings-on in the provincial capital, Domodossola. A little further south lies Lago Maggiore with the cities of Verbania and Stresa, where the Italian dolce vita is lived. Another insider’s tip is the picturesque Lago d’Orta. And let us not forget the journey through the Centovalli, home to over 100 valleys. A train journey that lingers in the memory.

Culture in Domodossola

Explore this impressive provincial capital

You can learn a lot about the city’s exciting history by walking through the historic centre of Domodossola. There are still remnants of the medieval defensive walls built to withstand the Swiss. The alleys are home to splendid patrician houses. The Piazza del Mercato impresses with its medieval and Renaissance buildings, surrounded by beautiful arcades.

Tip: Visit the city’s famous market on Saturday mornings, and combine this with a trip to the Palazzo Silva or San Francesco museums in the afternoon. The Piazza del Mercato and surrounding streets are filled with over 170 market stalls. Here you will find wonderfully fresh and high-quality local specialities.

Exploring the Centovalli

Travelling from Domodossola to Locarno with the Centovalli railway

The Centovalli railway is part of the shortest connection between Valais and Ticino, and takes just under two hours to reach Locarno from Domodossola. Along the almost 60-kilometre-long narrow-gauge line, you can marvel at the region’s fascinating natural and cultural heritage, including 83 bridges and viaducts. The line traverses the Locarnese National Park, which is currently under construction.

Tip: Combine your trip through the Centovalli with a visit to Domodossola’s Saturday market.

UNESCO World Heritage Site Sacro Monte Calvario

Pilgrim path leading to Mattarella Hill

This easy walk (40 minutes) leads from Domodossola train station along the pilgrim path through a nature conservation area and up the Mattarella Hill. The conservation area offers pristine nature, unique flora and fauna, as well as various ruins of castles and early Christian sites. 15 chapels line the pilgrim path, which has been granted UNESCO World Heritage status. Within the chapels, you can admire the life-sized depictions of Christ and his followers, as well as paintings by numerous renowned artists. The viewing platform in the park of the holy hill provides views out onto the entire Alpine chain surrounding Domodossola.

Tip: Combine your visit to the Sacro Monte Calvario with a free visit to Domodossola’s museums.

Italianità in Stresa (Isola Bella)

Isola Bella – the region’s main attraction

Stresa is a famous Italian spa town located in beautiful countryside, with numerous architectural gems and a mild climate. Luxurious villas and opulent hotels in the art nouveau style line the shores of the lake, which tempt visitors to enjoy a relaxing stroll.

Offshore from Stresa lies the Isola Bella, an island famous for its Italian gardens. These consist of 10 descending terraces designed to look like a truncated pyramid. Various statues, obelisks and fountains adorn the gardens, in which flourish a variety of flowers and plants from around the world. On the lawns surrounding the gardens you can admire the white peacocks that stroll around freely.

Behind the impressive Baroque palace and gardens lies part of the village with restaurants and typical shops.
0 Media files
    Lötschberger country
    Railway adventure

    Your journey into the Lötschberger country

    More
    Lötschberger country
    Dolce Vita im Lötschberger-Land
    The finest excursions in the Bernese Oberland, Upper Valais and Piedmont
    Discover
    Newsletter

Lötschberger-Land

Region Piemont

Benvenuti – und viel Freude beim Erkunden dieser herrlichen Region!

Südlich des Wallis liegt die charmante Region Piemont mit den Ausläufern der Alpen. Rauschende Bäche, unberührte Natur, eindrückliche Täler, aber auch das rege Treiben der Provinzhauptstadt Domodossola prägen den obersten Teil der Region. Etwas weiter südlich liegt der Lago Maggiore mit den Städten Verbania und Stresa, wo das italienische Dolce Vita gelebt wird. Ein Geheimtipp ist auch der malerische Lago d'Orta. Nicht zu vergessen ist die Reise durch das Centovalli mit über 100 Tälern. Eine Zugreise, welche in Erinnerung bleibt.

Kultur in Domodossola

Die eindrückliche Provinzhauptstadt entdecken

Beim Schlendern durch die Altstadt von Domodossola erfahren Sie mehr über die spannende Geschichte der Stadt. Von der mittelalterlichen Befestigung gegen die Eidgenossen sind noch Mauerreste vorhanden. In den Gassen finden sich prächtige Herrenhäuser. Die Piazza del Mercato besticht mit Gebäuden aus dem Mittelalter und der Renaissance, umgeben von schönen Arkaden.

Tipp: Besuchen Sie am Samstagvormittag den berühmten Markt und kombinieren Sie diesen am Nachmittag mit einem Besuch der Museen Palazzo Silva oder San Francesco. Die Piazza del Mercato und die umliegenden Strassen füllen sich jeweils mit über 170 Marktständen. Lokale Spezialitäten findet man hier in besonderer Frische und Qualität.

Entdeckungstour durch das Centovalli

Mit der Centovalli-Bahn von Domodossola nach Locarno

Die Centovalli-Bahn ist Teil der kürzesten Verbindung zwischen dem Wallis und dem Tessin und führt in knapp zwei Stunden von Domodossola nach Locarno. Auf der fast 60 Kilometer langen Schmalspurstrecke können Sie das faszinierende Natur- und Kulturerbe der Gegend bewundern, darunter 83 Brücken und Viadukte. Die Strecke führt durch den Nationalpark Locarnese, der derzeit entsteht.

Tipp: Kombinieren Sie Ihre Reise durch das Centovalli am Samstag mit einem Marktbesuch in Domodossola.

UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe Sacro Monte Calvario

Pilgerweg auf den Berg Mattarella

Die einfache Wanderung (40 Minuten) führt vom Bahnhof Domodossola entlang des Pilgerwegs durch ein Sondernaturschutzgebiet auf den Berg Mattarella. Das Sondernaturschutzgebiet bietet eine unberührte Natur, eine einzigartige Flora und Fauna sowie verschiedene Ruinen von Burgen und frühchristlichen Gebäuden. 15 Kapellen säumen den mit dem UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe ausgezeichneten Pilgerweg. Innerhalb der Kapellen bestaunen Sie lebensgrosse Christifigurengruppen und Gemälde von zahlreichen bekannten Künstlern. Auf dem Aussichtsplateau im Park des heiligen Berges lassen Sie Ihren Blick über den ganzen Alpenkreis rings um Domodossola schweifen.

Tipp: Kombinieren Sie den Besuch des Sacro Monte Calvario mit einem kostenlosen Besuch der Museen in Domodossola.

Italianità in Stresa (Isola Bella)

Isola Bella - Hauptattraktion der Region

Stresa ist ein bekannter italienischer Kurort mit einer wunderschönen Landschaft, zahlreichen architektonischen Schätzen und einem milden Klima. Luxuriöse Villen und opulente Hotels im Jugendstil säumen die Ufer des Sees, die zu einem erholsamen Spaziergang einladen.

Vor der Stadt Stresa liegt die Isola Bella, die für ihre italienischen Gärten bekannt ist. Diese bestehen aus zehnfach abgestuften Terrassen, die wie eine stumpfe Pyramide angelegt worden sind. Verschiedene Statuen, Obelisken und Brunnen bereichern die Gärten, in denen vielfältige Pflanzen und Blumen aus der ganzen Welt gedeihen. Auf den Wiesen rund um die Gärten bestaunen Sie die weissen Pfauen, welche frei herumspazieren.

Hinter dem eindrücklichen barocken Palast und den Gärten liegt ein Teil des Dorfes mit Restaurants und typischen Läden.
0 Mediendateien
    Lötschberger-Land
    Erlebnis Bahnfahrt

    Ihr Weg ins Lötschberger-Land

    Mehr
    Lötschberger-Land
    Dolce Vita im Lötschberger-Land
    Ausflüge Berner Oberland, Oberwallis und Piemont
    entdecken
    Newsletter