Railway adventures

Locarno and Madonna del Sasso

Visit the Madonna del Sasso pilgrimage church by train and funicular railway.

Your journey to Locarno with the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway will take you across bridges and rivers and past vineyards. Once in Locarno, a five-minute ride in the historic funicular railway will take you up to the Madonna del Sasso pilgrimage church, a popular viewing point out over Lago Maggiore.

The Sacred Mount of the Madonna del Sasso is one of the most significant religious and historical sites in the canton of Ticino. Set on a spectacular rock promontory, this holy site is surrounded by a large piazza from which visitors can enjoy the splendid views of the valley and surrounding mountains.

  • Coronavirus notice Please take note of the protection plan and any restrictions set by the provider.

Railway adventure Vigezzina–Centovalli Bahn

Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway

Nearly 100 years old, the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway is a panoramic, narrow-gauge railway line connecting Domodossola and Locarno. The line is 52 km long and includes 83 bridges and 31 tunnels. Today, it is one of the major attractions of the Ossola Valley. Nestled amidst the pristine landscape, it offers passengers a leisurely and exciting journey between Valle Vigezzo and Centovalli, between Italy and Switzerland.

Free audio guide  

Follow your journey on the map. Discover all the details, curiosities and interesting information along the entire railway line. What do you require for this? Your smartphone and earphones. With no additional data charges.

Sights Sacro Monte Madonna del Sasso

Madonna del Sasso

The Madonna del Sasso pilgrimage site was founded in 1487 by the Franciscan monk Frá Bartolomeo after – so tradition has it – the Virgin Mary appeared to him in a vision here. Pious locals then erected the first chapel here. In the centuries that followed, the idea came to fruition of building a pilgrimage site, a form of religious architecture that is very common in the lakeland region: an ensemble of churches and chapels along the ‘penitents’ way’ that is embedded into the beautiful, rural landscape. The architectural ensemble includes the basilica and Franciscan monastery, which stand high up on the rock, the church of the annunciation, the stations of the cross and other chapels.

Museo Casa del Padre

The museum is located in the oldest part of the monastery, within the rooms once inhabited by the first four months, including the refectory with its splendid fresco of the Last Supper. The eight exhibition rooms give insights into the monastic life of the Capuchin monks and the history of the monastery in the context of the pilgrimage in the region of the alpine foothills. The exhibits also include paraments, cult objects, and drawings and paintings by the Ticino painter Antonio Ciseri (1821-1891).

 

Availability Today (Monday) open

The offer is available all year round.

The funicular railway is closed in November due to repair work.

Subject to change without prior notice

How to get there

The RegioExpress Lötschberger takes you directly and in comfort from Bern to Domodossola. From Domodossola Train Station, it’s an approximately 8-minute walk to the departure point of the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway. The journey from Domodossola to Locarno takes around two hours. The funicular railway is located next to Locarno Train Station and take you to Sacro Monte.
For the return journey, we recommend the shorter route via the Gotthard line.

Notes

Free audio guide

Follow your journey on the map. Discover all the details, curiosities and interesting information on the entire railway line.

What do you need? Your smartphone and headphones. Without additional costs for the telephone connection.

Seat reservations

Reserve your seat on board the Centovalli Railway at your BLS Travel Centre.

Reservation fee

Normal trains CHF 5.00
Panorama trains CHF 5.00

If you have any questions, the BLS Travel Centre Bern Bümpliz Nord will be happy to help:

Weather & webcam Today: light showers 10/13°

Today light showers 10/13°
Tomorrow fair weather 9/18°
Wednesday partly cloudy 8/16°
Thursday partly cloudy 9/17°
Locarno: Madonna del Sasso
(powered by www.ticino.ch)

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & Timetable
Similar offers
Special offers
Die wunderbare Aussicht vom Brienzer Rothorn auf den Brienzersee
Mt. Brienzer Rothorn, pearl of the Alps
Benefit
Railway adventures
Rochers-de-Naye, Aussicht
Rochers-de-Naye – on the balcony above the Swiss Riviera
Discover
Railway adventures
Blick auf das Dörfchen Rasa
By cable car to Rasa
Discover
Railway adventures
Führerstandsfahrt Lötschberger
Ride in the driver’s cab on the Lötschberg line
Experience
Offers nearby
Knowledge & culture
Locarno-Piazza-Grande
Ascona and Locarno
Discover
Hiking & nature
Camedo Intragna Parco dei Mulini - ©Ticino Turismo – foto Rémy Steinegger
Via del Mercato
Discover
Hiking & nature
Alpe Pra
The themed trails in the Val Grande National Park
Discover
Hiking & nature
Valle-Vigezzo
A cultural hike through the Valle dei Pittori
Discover
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Bahnerlebnisse

Locarno und Madonna del Sasso

Mit Zug und Standseilbahn zur Wallfahrtskirche Madonna del Sasso

Über Brücken, Flüsse und durch Weinberge fährt Sie die Vigezzina-Centovalli Bahn nach Locarno. Dort führt die historische Standseilbahn in nur 5 Minuten hinauf zur Wallfahrtskirche Madonna del Sasso, einem beliebten Aussichtspunkt über dem Lago Maggiore.

Der heilige Berg der Madonna del Sasso Orselina ist eine der wichtigsten religiösen und historischen Stätten des Kantons Tessin. Das auf einem spektakulären Felsvorsprung gelegene Heiligtum ist von einem weitläufigen Platz umgeben, von dem aus man einen herrlichen Blick auf das Tal und die umliegenden Berge geniessen kann.

  • Hinweis Coronavirus  Bitte beachten Sie das Schutzkonzept und allfällige Einschränkungen oder Schliessungen des Anbieters.

Bahnerlebnis Vigezzina–Centovalli Bahn

Vigezzina-Centovalli-Bahn

Die Vigezzina-Centovalli-Bahn ist eine panoramareiche, fast 100-jährige Schmalspurbahn welche Domodossola mit Locarno verbindet. Die Strecke ist 52 Kilometer lang und führt über 83 Brücken und durch 31 Tunnel. Sie zählt heute zu den bedeutendsten Attraktionen des Ossola-Tals. Eingebettet in die authentische Natur bietet sie den Passagieren eine langsame und aufregende Reise zwischen dem Valle Vigezzo und dem Centovalli, zwischen Italien und der Schweiz.  

Kostenloser Audioguide

Verfolgen Sie Ihre Reise auf der Karte. Entdecken Sie alle Details, Kurioses und interessante Informationen auf der gesamten Bahnstrecke. Was brauchen Sie dazu? Ihr Smartphone und Kopfhörer. Ohne zusätzliche Kosten für die Telefonverbindung.

Sehenswürdigkeiten Sacro Monte Madonna del Sasso

Madonna del Sasso

Der Wallfahrtsort Madonna del Sasso wurde im Jahr 1487 vom Franziskanerbruder Frá Bartolomeo gegründet. Dies, nachdem ihm gemäss Überlieferungen, an dieser Stelle die Jungfrau Maria erschienen war. Der Volksglaube bewirkte darauf den Bau einer ersten Kapelle. In den folgenden Jahrhunderten reifte die Idee zur Errichtung eines Wallfahrtsortes, eine religiöse Architekturform, die in der Seeregion sehr verbreitet ist: ein Komplex von Kirchen und Kapellen entlang einem Bussweg, der sich in die schöne und einsame Natur einfügt. Zum architektonischen Komplex gehören die Basilika und das Franziskanerkloster, die hoch auf dem Felsen stehen, die Verkündungskirche, der Kreuzweg und weitere Kapellen.

Museo Casa del Padre

Das Museum befindet sich im ältesten Teil des Klosters und belegt die ursprünglichen Räumlichkeiten, in denen die ersten vier Mönche gelebt hatten, inklusive das Refektorium mit seinem grossartigen Fresko des Letzten Abendmahls. In den acht Ausstellungsräumen wird vom Klosterleben der Kapuzinerpater erzählt sowie die Geschichte des Klosters im Zusammenhang mit den Pilgerstätten im Voralpenraum. Zu sehen sind unter anderem auch Paramente, Kultgegenstände, Zeichnungen und Bilder des Tessiner Malers Antonio Ciseri (1821-1891). 

 

Öffnungszeiten Heute Mittwoch verfügbar

Das Angebot ist ganzjährig verfügbar.

Die Standseilbahn ist im November wegen Unterhaltsarbeiten geschlossen.

Änderungen vorbehalten

Anreise

Mit dem RegioExpress Lötschberger reisen Sie bequem und ohne umzusteigen ab Bern bis nach Domodossola. Vom Bahnhof Domodossola aus erreichen Sie den Abfahrtsort der Vigezzina-Centovalli Bahn in ca. 8 Gehminuten. Die Fahrt von Domodossola nach Locarno dauert rund 2 Stunden. Die Standseilbahn zum befindet sich neben dem Bahnhof von Locarno und führt Sie zum Sacro Monte.
Für die Rückreise empfehlen wir Ihnen die kürzere Strecke über die Gotthardlinie.

Hinweise

Kostenloser Audioguide

Verfolgen Sie Ihre Reise auf der Karte. Entdecken Sie alle Details, Kurioses und interessante Informationen auf der gesamten Bahnstrecke.

Was brauchen Sie dazu? Ihr Smartphone und Kopfhörer. Ohne zusätzliche Kosten für die Telefonverbindung.

Sitzplatzreservation

Reservieren Sie Ihren Sitzplatz in der Vigezzina-Centovalli Bahn in Ihrem BLS Reisezentrum.

Reservationsgebühr

Normale Züge CHF 5.00
Panoramazüge CHF 5.00

Bei Fragen ist das BLS Reisezentrum Bern Bümpliz Nord gerne für Sie da:

Wetter & Webcam Heute: wolkig, aber kaum Regen 6/14°

Heute wolkig, aber kaum Regen 6/14°
Morgen wechselnd bewölkt, Regen 9/13°
Freitag sonnig 3/12°
Samstag recht sonnig 0/10°

Keine Kommentare 0 von 5 Sternen

Bewerten
Weitere Bewertungen

Standort

Tickets & Fahrplan
Ähnliche Angebote
Bahnerlebnisse
Rochers-de-Naye, Aussicht
Rochers-de-Naye – auf dem Balkon der Riviera
Entdecken
Sparangebote
Die wunderbare Aussicht vom Brienzer Rothorn auf den Brienzersee
Alpenperle Brienzer Rothorn
profitieren
Bahnerlebnisse
Blick auf das Dörfchen Rasa
Mit der Seilbahn nach Rasa
Entdecken
Aussichtspunkte
Stockhorn_Fernsicht_8
Fernsicht und Kulinarik auf dem Stockhorn
Profitieren
Angebote in der Nähe
Wissen & Kultur
Locarno-Piazza-Grande
Ascona und Locarno
Entdecken
Wandern & Natur
Die Pflanzen an der Promenade von Muralto Locarno stehen in der Herbstblüte.
Locarno und seine winterlichen Traumgärten
Entdecken
Wandern & Natur
Camedo Intragna Parco dei Mulini - ©Ticino Turismo – foto Rémy Steinegger
Via del Mercato
Entdecken
Wandern & Natur
Alpe Pra
Die Themenwege des Nationalparks Val Grande
Entdecken
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 aus 0 Mediendateien