Construction projects

Extension of the Rosshäusern–Mauss line to twin tracks

BLS built a dual-track line between Rosshäusern and Mauss between 2012 and 2018. The core component is the two-kilometre Rosshäusern Tunnel. It replaces an old winding section together with its single-track tunnel built in 1901, which was in need of restoration. The new dual-track line reduces travel time and forms the basis for future service improvements.

For more than two-thirds of its length, the 43-kilometre-long Bern–Kerzers–Neuchâtel railway line features only a single track. This limits capacity, makes timetabling difficult and leads to delays. One particular bottleneck was the 3.7-kilometre-long section between Rosshäusern train station and the Saane Viaduct. This section has recently been expanded to two tracks.

0 of 0 Media files

    Key data on the dual-track expansion

    Construction start: 2012

    Commissioning: 3rd of september 2018. Finishing work completed by 2020

    Costs: the total costs for the dual-track expansion, including the modernisation of Rosshäusern train station, amount to around 265 million francs. The Federal Government and the cantons of Bern, Fribourg and Neuchâtel are financially supporting the dual-track expansion.

    What the project will achieve

    The new route, which is for the most part straight, shortens the line by 300 metres and enables trains to travel at 160 km/h rather than 90 km/h. This reduces travel times on the Bern–Neuchâtel line.

    • For passengers, the dual-track expansion means more punctual trains on the Bern–Neuchâtel line; for BLS, it means an increase in operational flexibility. With a longer dual track, trains travelling in opposite directions no longer have to wait for one another to pass. Delays thus take longer to affect other trains.
    • BLS has constructed the new dual-track tunnel in accordance with the latest safety standards. A 50-metre-high shaft with stairs and a lift have been created in the centre of the tunnel as an emergency exit. This emerges from the ground in the form of a small rotunda near the hamlet of Rosshäusern. The winding section has been straightened, thus avoiding costly restoration work to the old section and its tunnel.
    • Rosshäusern train station was already comprehensively modernised in 2012 / 2013. The entire platform system now meets the requirements set out in the Swiss Disability Discrimination Act (DDA). BLS has additionally erected sound-protection walls around the train station to protect neighbouring residential areas.

    Key construction phases

    On 2 June 2015, the final explosive charge was detonated in the tunnel. The last metres of rock in the upper half of the 1910-metre-long mountain tunnel passage was thereby excavated.

    After the breakthrough in mid-2015, the interior construction of the tunnel was completed by mid-2017. Thereafter, BLS installed the track, overhead lines and all control and safety systems in the tunnel, so that it could be commissioned in autumn 2018.

    From 2018, the decommissioning of the old section will get under way. The single-track tunnel, which is over 110 years old and features tunnel portals of hand-chiselled stone, will be preserved as a historic monument. To this end, it will be restored as much as necessary. However, it will not be accessible to the public. The decommissioned section will be completely dismantled, and the canalised Flüelebach brook restored to its natural condition. The Schnuremüli bridge will also be restored.

    BLS will complete the project – including the finishing work, such as the ecological restoration and removal of construction-site trails – by 2020.

    How is a tunnel constructed?

    BLS began the excavation work on the tunnel in spring 2013. Excavating the rock, which is predominantly sandstone and marl, posed a great challenge, as the material becomes quickly unstable when in contact with air and water. Due to these difficult geological conditions, the excavation method was changed in January 2014. Instead of fully excavating from the east, as was the original plan, the project switched to using so-called calotte excavation with a pipe screen.

    Here the upper half of the tunnel, or calotte, is excavated first. Steel pipes are drilled into the tunnel roof like a protective shield before the excavation of a section begins. Only once the calotte has been broken through is the lower half of the tunnel, the bench, excavated in a second phase.

    Following the breakthrough, the step-like indentations in the tunnel’s dome created by the drilling of the pipe screen need to be filled in with sprayed concrete. This is because the interior construction of the tunnel and the cladding of waterproof foil require as even a surface as possible. Filling these “wedges” takes three to four months.

    Thereafter, the excavation of the bench, the lower tunnel half, can begin.

    Blasting a tunnel

    And this is how blasting works:

    1. Pipe screen
      15-metre-long pipes are drilled into the rock at the edge of the excavation. They form a protective screen below which the tunnel can be excavated.
    2. Blasting
      Beneath the pipe screen, the rock is blasted out in approx. 2-metre-long sections.
    3. Rubble removal
      A wheel loader shovels the excavated rock into dump trucks, which then transport it to the dump.
    4. Steel arches
      The excavated section is secured with steel arches spaced at one-metre intervals.
    5. Concrete
      The dome and walls between the steel arches are secured with concrete.
    6. Additional excavation material
      Excavating with a pipe screen created more excavation material than with the originally intended excavation method.
      At the same time, more gravel is needed for the tunnel construction than calculated.
    7. Zigzag profile
      Following the breakthrough, the step-like indentations in the tunnel’s dome created by the drilling of the pipe screen need to be filled in with sprayed concrete.
    0 of 0 Media files

      The breakthrough

      0 of 0 Media files

        Bench excavation

        0 of 0 Media files

          Interior construction

          0 of 0 Media files

            Environmentally friendly measures

            On its western perimeter, the construction project borders on a nature reserve that is difficult to access. Various measures contribute to minimising or compensating for the impact on nature, the landscape and the environment.

            • Decommissioning the old section
            • Ecologically restoring the Flüelebach brook
            • Installing the intersecting BKW overhead lines in the ground
            • Design concept appropriate to the landscape and residential area
            • Optimised material management

            Ecological restoration of the Flüelebach brook

            The Flüelebach brook, which has been canalised and is largely covered by the rail embankment, is to be restored to its original bed. The ecological restoration will benefit the habitat of roe deer, foxes, badgers, hares, red deer and beavers. The area will also become popular for local recreation.

            Smart material management

            Around 420,000 cubic metres of rubble will be created during the tunnel excavation, all of which needs to be removed. And around 330,000 cubic metres of gravel needs to be brought on site as a building material and to create concrete. BLS literally moves mountains. In order to transport the material in a way that is as sensitive to residents and the environment as possible, the company proceeds as follows:

            • Gravel pickup and rubble depositing in Mäderforst near the tunnel construction site.
            • Removal of rubble through the tunnel and via the construction-site trail
            • Mixing concrete on the construction site in this way helps avoid long transport miles and clogging up public roads with numerous trucks.
            0 of 0 Media files

              Reducing the impact of the construction site

              Construction traffic and school-route safety

              Despite smart material management, around 140 truck consignments to and from the construction site are necessary each day. This equates to one truck every four minutes. During intensive phases, this figure can increase considerably. This poses a danger to school children in particular. For this reason, BLS has worked with the communities to put numerous school-route safety measures in place. These include a cycle route along the old Bern road by Heggidorn, structural modifications along the transport routes, a reduction of the speed limit, traffic briefings, and a school bus service.

              Tree clearing and reforestation

              For the gravel pit in Mäderforst and the embankment construction, tree clearing is unavoidable. The cleared areas will be fully reforested once construction is completed; where this is not possible, compensatory reforesting will be carried out elsewhere.

              Walking trail around the tunnel construction site

              Around the construction site on foot

              The construction site can be circled around on walking trails. Please adhere to the signposted footpaths and walking trails! Thank you for caring for nature and taking your litter home with you.

              Approximate walking times:
              Info centre–Schnurrenmühle–Flüelenmüli: approx. 1½ hours
              Info centre–Spengelried–Flüelenmüli: approx. 1¼ hours

              Additional information can be found on the walking map.

              0 of 0 Media files
                Kundenmagazin «gazette»
                Bald brausen die Züge durch den Tunnel

                Gute Nachrichten für BLS-Reisende: Bald fahren die ersten Züge durch den Rosshäuserntunnel. Seit Anfang Juli wird die Bahntechnik eingebaut, die Inbetriebnahme ist für Anfang September 2018 geplant.

                lesen
                Construction projects
                Nachtarbeiten
                Construction noise and other disruptions

                Where there’s construction work, there’s noise

                More
                Projects and background
                Barrier-free travel
                More
                Newsletter

Travaux et constructions

Doublement de la voie Rosshäusern–Mauss

BLS a construit entre 2012 et 2018 une voie double entre Rosshäusern et Mauss, dont le tunnel de Rosshäuern de deux kilomètres constitue la pièce maîtresse. Ce dernier remplace l’ancien tronçon sinueux ainsi que le tunnel à une voie construit en 1901. La voie double réduit le temps de trajet et conditionne ainsi les prochaines améliorations de l’offre.

Long de 43 kilomètres, le tronçon Berne–Kerzers–Neuchâtel est à voie unique sur près des deux tiers, ce qui réduit son rendement, complique l’établissement de l’horaire et accroît le risque de retard des trains. Situé entre la gare de Rosshäusern et le viaduc de la Sarine, un tronçon sinueux de 3,7 kilomètres constituait tout particulièrement un goulet d’étranglement, raison pour laquelle BLS l’a étendu sur deux voies. La nouvelle voie double augmente la ponctualité des trains. BLS effectuera des travaux de renaturation et de remise en culture jusqu’en 2020. Le tunnel construit en 1901, quant à lui, sera conservé comme témoin du passé.

0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Dates-clés du doublement de la voie

    Début des travaux: 2012

    Mise en service: 3 septembre 2018. Finalisation des travaux d’ici 2020

    Coûts: le coût global du doublement de la voie et de la réfection de la gare de Rosshäusern se monte à 265 millions de francs. La Confédération ainsi que les cantons de Berne, de Fribourg et de Neuchâtel participent au financement des travaux.

    Avantages générés par le projet

    Le nouveau tracé du tunnel, essentiellement en ligne droite, raccourcit le trajet de 300 mètres et permettra aux trains de circuler à 160 km/h, contre 90 km/h actuellement. Le temps de trajet sur la ligne Berne–Neuchâtel sera ainsi réduit.

    • Le doublement de la voie est synonyme de ponctualité des trains sur la ligne Bern–Neuchâtel pour les voyageurs, et de flexibilité opérationnelle pour BLS. L’allongement de la double voie supprime l’attente due aux croisements des trains. Par conséquent, les retards se répercutent moins rapidement sur d’autres trains.
    • BLS a construit le nouveau tunnel à double voie dans le respect des dernières normes de sécurité. Une cheminée de 50 mètres de hauteur dotée d’un escalier et d’un ascenseur permettant une évacuation en cas d’urgence a été réalisée au milieu du tunnel et rejoint la surface aux environs du hameau de Rosshäusern sous la forme d’une petite structure circulaire. Le tronçon sinueux a été rectifié. Ainsi, les travaux de rénovation complexes de l’ancien tronçon et de l’ancien tunnel ne sont pas nécessaires.
    • La gare de Rosshäusern a fait l’objet d’une modernisation complète en 2012 / 2013. L’ensemble du quai est désormais conforme aux prescriptions de la loi sur l’égalité pour les handicapés (LHand). BLS a par ailleurs mis en place des murs antibruit aux environs de la gare, afin de protéger les zones d’habitation voisines.

    Principales étapes du chantier

    La dernière charge explosive était lancée dans le tunnel le 2 juin 2015. Les derniers mètres de roche du tunnel de 1910 mètres de longueur avaient ainsi été creusés sur la moitié supérieure des tubes.

    Après le percement réalisé à la mi-2015, l’extension intérieure du tunnel était en cours de construction jusqu’à la fin du premier semestre 2017. BLS a ensuite pu intégrer dans le tunnel la voie ferrée, les lignes de contact ainsi que l’ensemble des systèmes de contrôle et de sécurité, afin de permettre une mise en service à l’automne 2018.

    Le démantèlement de l’ancienne ligne ferroviaire a débuté en 2018. Le tunnel à une voie, qui date de plus de 110 ans, et ses extrémités maçonnées dans la pierre de taille seront conservés en tant que vestige historique. Le tunnel sera restauré dans la mesure nécessaire, mais ne sera pas accessible au public. L’ancienne ligne ferroviaire désaffectée sera entièrement démantelée et le Flüelebach canalisé renaturé. Le pont situé près de Schnuremüli sera alors rénové.

    BLS achèvera le projet et les travaux de finalisation tels que les renaturations et le retrait des pistes d’accès d’ici 2020.

    Comment crée-t-on un tunnel?

    BLS a entamé les travaux de creusement du tunnel au printemps 2013. Le creusement dans une roche essentiellement composée de grès et de marne a été particulièrement difficile, le matériau devenant rapidement instable au contact de l’air et de l’eau. La méthode d’avancement a été modifiée en janvier 2014 en raison de conditions géologiques difficiles. Au lieu d’un creusement en pleine section depuis l’est, la méthode dite d’attaque en calotte avec voûte parapluie a été utilisée. 

    Seule la moitié supérieure du tunnel, la calotte, est alors percée dans un premier temps. Des tubes en acier faisant office de voûte parapluie sont percés dans le plafond du tunnel avant le creusement d’une section. Ce n’est qu’après la percée de la calotte que la moitié inférieure du tunnel, la semelle, est déblayée.

    Une fois le percement terminé, les paliers en forme d’escalier, dans la voûte du tunnel, créés au travers de la voûte parapluie, doivent d’abord être remplis de béton projeté. La surface intérieure du tunnel et la couche de revêtement étanche nécessitent en effet une surface aussi plane que possible. Le comblement de ces «goussets» s’étend sur trois à quatre mois.

    La démolition de la semelle, soit la moitié inférieure du tunnel, peut ensuite commencer. 

    Creusement d’un tunnel à l’explosif

    Méthode de creusement à l’explosif:

    1. Voûte parapluie
      Des carottages de 15 mètres de longueur sont effectués dans la roche, formant ainsi un écran protecteur sous lequel le creusement du tunnel peut être réalisé.
    2. Excavation à l’explosif
      La roche est creusée à l’explosif sous la voûte parapluie par paliers d’environ 2 mètres de longueur.
    3. Évacuation des éboulements
      Un chargeur sur pneus déblaie les matières rocheuses sur des tombereaux qui acheminent ces dernières jusqu’à la décharge.
    4. Arcs en acier
      Le tronçon ouvert est sécurisé par des arcs en acier en respectant un écartement d’un mètre.
    5. Béton
      Les voûtes et les parois sont sécurisées entre les arcs en acier avec du béton.
    6. Matériaux d’excavation supplémentaires
      Les paliers en forme d’escalier génèrent plus de matériaux d’excavation que la méthode d’avancement initialement prévue.
      La construction du tunnel requiert par ailleurs plus de gravier qu’escompté.
    7. Remplissage du profil cranté
      Une fois le percement terminé, les paliers en forme d’escalier dans la voûte du tunnel créés au travers de la voûte parapluie sont remplis de béton projeté.
    0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

      Le percement

      0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

        Démolition de la semelle

        0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

          Aménagement intérieur

          0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

            Mesures favorables à l’environnement

            Le projet de construction touche, sur son extrémité ouest, une réserve naturelle difficile d’accès. De nombreuses mesures contribuent à réduire au maximum et à compenser les incidences sur la nature, le paysage et l’environnement.

            • Démontage de l’ancienne voie
            • Renaturation du ruisseau Flüelebach
            • Enterrement des lignes aériennes FMB traversantes
            • Concept respectueux du paysage et des habitats
            • Gestion des matériaux optimisée

            Renaturation du ruisseau Flüelebach

            Le Flüelebach canalisé et en grande partie recouvert par le tracé doit à nouveau pouvoir suivre son cours naturel. La renaturation est un atout pour les biotopes du chevreuil, du renard, du blaireau, du lièvre, du cerf et du castor. La région devient également attractive pour les loisirs de proximité.

            Gestion intelligente des matériaux

            Le percement du tunnel produit environ 420'000 mètres cubes de matériau, qu’il convient d’éliminer. À l’inverse, quelque 330'000 mètres cubes de gravier sont nécessaires comme matériau de construction et pour la fabrication du béton. BLS déplace des montagnes, au sens propre. Elle procède comme suit pour organiser un transport du matériel le plus respectueux possible des riverains et de l’environnement:

            • Extraction du gravier et remplissage du matériel à Mäderforst, à proximité du chantier du tunnel
            • Évacuation du matériel d’excavation via le tunnel et la piste d’accès
            • Fabrication du béton sur le chantier, ce qui évite les longues voies de transport et les nombreux trajets en camion sur les routes publiques
            0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

              Atténuer les incidences du chantier

              Circulation à proximité du chantier et sécurisation des trajets scolaires

              En dépit d’une gestion intelligente des matériaux, environ 140 transports de chantier doivent en moyenne être effectués chaque jour par la route, soit un camion toutes les 4 minutes. Ce chiffre peut être nettement plus élevé pendant les phases de travail intensives. Il en résulte tout particulièrement un risque pour les écoliers. En collaboration avec les communes, BLS a par conséquent mis en œuvre de nombreuses mesures de sécurisation pour les trajets scolaires, parmi lesquelles une piste cyclable le long de l’ancienne Bernstrasse à côté de Heggidorn, des aménagements structurels le long des voies de transport, une baisse de la limitation de vitesse, des instructions de circulation routière et un service de bus scolaire.

              Défrichage et reboisement

              Le défrichage est inévitable pour la gravière de Mäderforst et pour la construction de sillons. Les surfaces défrichées sont entièrement reboisées une fois les travaux terminés. En cas d’impossibilité à certains endroits, des reboisements compensatoires sont effectués à un autre emplacement.

              Randonnée autour du chantier du tunnel

              À pied autour du chantier

              Il est possible de longer le chantier ferroviaire sur des chemins de randonnée. Veuillez uniquement emprunter les chemins piétonniers et de randonnée! Merci de prendre soin de la nature et d’emporter vos déchets.

              Temps de marche approximatifs:
              Centre d’information–Schnurrenmühle–Flüelenmüli: env. 1 h 30 min
              Centre d’information–Spengelried–Flüelenmüli: env. 1 h 15 min

              De plus amples informations sont disponibles sur la carte de randonnée.

              0 de 0 Fichiers de médias
                Travaux et constructions
                Nachtarbeiten
                Nuisances sonores et autres perturbations
                Plus
                Projets & informations
                Voyager sans obstacles
                Plus
                Newsletter