Bijouland

The Neuchâtel region

Neuchâtel and Lake Neuchâtel

Neuchâtel, the capital city of the canton with the same name, is picturesquely situated immediately on the lakeshore. The castle mound with the collegiate church of yellow sandstone are the emblems of the city and visible from far away. The waterside promenade is perfect for a stroll, and the surrounding area offers numerous walking opportunities. Anyone exploring Neuchâtel on foot will discover that this charming city is a true gem. Its narrow alleys and roads lead from one discovery to the next. There are numerous museums, beautiful shops with regional products, and typical cafés to relax in. If you want to enjoy wonderful far-reaching views out over the lake and the city, then walk up Neuchâtel’s local hill, the Chaumont, or make the ascent of just under 600 metres with the funicular railway.

March of the 1st of March

On 1 March, the canton of Neuchâtel celebrates its revolution. Residents of the canton gather in Le Locle early in the morning and march to Neuchâtel Castle via La Chaux-de-Fonds. In doing so, they follow in the footsteps of the revolutionaries who in 1848 – more than 30 years after Neuchâtel joined the Swiss Confederation – drove out the Prussian overlords. This initiative was introduced by the radio presenter Rémy Gogniat in 1985. During its first year, the event attracted fewer than 60 participants. In 1998, the 150th anniversary year, it was already more than 6,000! The marchers always set off at 09.00 hours, with a cannon-shot acting as the start signal. At the end of each leg of the march, participants are welcomed with a cup of tea, a piece of Neuchâtel yeast cake or a bowl of soup.

Neuchâtel Ville du Goût 2017

Neuchâtel was voted the 2017 Ville du Goût (city of pleasure). It is likely to be a wonderful year full of culinary and cultural events. Neuchâtel will showcase the talents of a whole variety of culinary artists, who will present their creations and share their knowledge. Throughout 2017, the city will offer an appealing programme revolving around the pleasurable world of cuisine, with numerous events, workshops and exhibitions.

Torée – the Neuchâtel sausage cooked over the autumn bonfire

In the canton of Neuchâtel, the custom of cooking a sausage wrapped in cabbage over a bonfire made using cleared vegetation on a sunny autumn day is called the torée. This old tradition is kept alive as a celebration with family and friends.

An authentic torée must include a typical Neuchâtel saucisson (a spicy sausage made with pork and bacon), which is wrapped in a cabbage leaf, butcher’s paper, newspaper or aluminium and cooked in the embers of an autumn bonfire by the edge of the forest. This is served with potatoes, salad, bread, mustard, and of course a glass or two of local wine. This Neuchâtel tradition is still celebrated to this day in autumn. The torée originated in the local farmers’ annual custom of chopping down the vegetation surrounding their farmland and thus keeping their pastures from becoming overgrown. Every farmer brought along a sausage to this communal task, which they then cooked in a big bonfire made of all the cleared vegetation. Over the years, this tradition of the torée became what is today a fun celebration.

Bijouland
RE Neuchâtel-La Chaux-de-Fonds im Val de Ruz bei Les Hauts-Geneveys
Your way to the Bijouland
More
Bijouland
Region Neuchâtel im Winter
Lake Murten, Neuchâtel and Neuchâtel Jura excursions
Discover
Newsletter

Bijouland

Région Neuchâtel

Neuchâtel et littoral

Neuchâtel, chef lieu du canton du même nom, s’étend majestueusement le long du lac. Le Château et la Collégiale de pierres jaunes qui dominent la ville en sont les symboles et sont visibles de loin. Les bords du lacs invitent à la flânerie alors que les alentours de la ville offrent de nombreuses possibilités de randonnées. Vous découvrirez de nombreux joyaux en parcourant les charmantes ruelles de Neuchâtel. La ville abrite de nombreux musées, de jolis magasins de produits régionaux et des cafés typiques invitent à s’attarder. Le visiteur qui désire profiter du panorama sur le lac de Neuchâtel ou de la vue sur la ville peut gravir la colline de Chaumont à pied ou gravir les 600 mètres en funiculaire.

Marche du 1er mars

Le 1er mars, le canton de Neuchâtel fête sa révolution. Les habitantes et habitants du canton se réunissent le matin à Le Locle et marchent via La Chaux-de-Fonds, jusqu’au château de Neuchâtel. Ce faisant, ils marchent dans les pas des révolutionnaires, qui chassèrent les prévôts prussiens en 1848, plus de 30 ans après l’entrée du canton dans la Confédération. La Marche est née en 1985 de l’initiative de l’animateur de radio Rémy Gogniat, réunissant à peine 60 participants lors de sa première édition pour atteindre plus de 6000 marcheurs en 1998, lors de la 150e commémoration de la révolution. Le départ commence toujours à 09h00 et est signalé par des coups de canon. À chaque étape, c’est une tasse de thé, un bout de brioche neuchâteloise ou une assiette de soupe qui attendent les marcheurs. 

Neuchâtel Ville du Goût 2017

Neuchâtel à été élue Ville suisse du Goût 2017 et célébrera une année délicieusement neuchâteloise. Durant toute cette année, une série de manifestations culinaires et culturelles auront lieu, permettant aux artisans du goût à Neuchâtel de mettre leur précieux savoir-faire sous la lumière des projecteurs. Un programme attractif vous attend tout au long de l'année avec de nombreux évènements, des ateliers et des expositions.

La torrée

Le saucisson neuchâtelois constitue l'ingrédient-roi d'une authentique torrée. Il est emballé dans du chou et du papier de boucherie, une feuille de journal ou même de l'aluminium. Cuit dans la braise d'un feu placé en bordure de forêt, il s'accompagne de patates, salades, pain et autres douceurs… Avec en prime un petit verre de vin et une pointe de moutarde pour rehausser les saveurs ! Cette coutume propre à tous les Neuchâtelois, aujourd'hui synonyme de journée conviviale en famille ou entre amis, se serait développée en marge de la pratique du défrichage.

Les paysans chargés de préserver les pâturages de l'avancée de la forêt organisaient en effet chaque année une coupe de bois destinée à entretenir leur domaine, emportant un saucisson pour le cuire dans le grand feu né des déchets de la coupe. Si sa fonction utilitaire a disparu au profit des loisirs, ses adeptes n'en gardent pas moins un rapport à la nature particulier, prenant soin de ramasser leurs déchets et de choisir un emplacement adéquat. Les gardes-forestiers recommandent à cet égard de choisir un endroit dégagé, éloigné des jeunes arbres, et de délimiter le foyer avec des pierres. La pratique est devenue si populaire et emblématique pour la région que la Ville du Locle accueille chaque année ses nouveaux habitants par une grande torrée, sensibilisant ainsi dès son arrivée le nouveau citoyen au fort attachement identitaire qu'elle suscite.

Bijouland
RE Neuchâtel-La Chaux-de-Fonds im Val de Ruz bei Les Hauts-Geneveys
Votre trajet jusqu’au Bijouland
Plus
Bijouland
Region Neuchâtel im Winter
Lac de Morat, de Neuchâtel et des Montagnes neuchâteloises
Découvrir
Newsletter