Construction projects

Extension of the Rosshäusern–Mauss line to twin tracks

BLS built a dual-track line between Rosshäusern and Mauss between 2012 and 2018. The core component is the two-kilometre Rosshäusern Tunnel. It replaces an old winding section together with its single-track tunnel built in 1901, which was in need of restoration. The new dual-track line reduces travel time and forms the basis for future service improvements.

For more than two-thirds of its length, the 43-kilometre-long Bern–Kerzers–Neuchâtel railway line features only a single track. This limits capacity, makes timetabling difficult and leads to delays. One particular bottleneck was the 3.7-kilometre-long section between Rosshäusern train station and the Saane Viaduct. This section has recently been expanded to two tracks.

0 of 0 Media files

    Key data on the dual-track expansion

    Construction start: 2012

    Commissioning: 3rd of september 2018. Finishing work completed by 2020

    Costs: the total costs for the dual-track expansion, including the modernisation of Rosshäusern train station, amount to around 265 million francs. The Federal Government and the cantons of Bern, Fribourg and Neuchâtel are financially supporting the dual-track expansion.

    What the project will achieve

    The new route, which is for the most part straight, shortens the line by 300 metres and enables trains to travel at 160 km/h rather than 90 km/h. This reduces travel times on the Bern–Neuchâtel line.

    • For passengers, the dual-track expansion means more punctual trains on the Bern–Neuchâtel line; for BLS, it means an increase in operational flexibility. With a longer dual track, trains travelling in opposite directions no longer have to wait for one another to pass. Delays thus take longer to affect other trains.
    • BLS has constructed the new dual-track tunnel in accordance with the latest safety standards. A 50-metre-high shaft with stairs and a lift have been created in the centre of the tunnel as an emergency exit. This emerges from the ground in the form of a small rotunda near the hamlet of Rosshäusern. The winding section has been straightened, thus avoiding costly restoration work to the old section and its tunnel.
    • Rosshäusern train station was already comprehensively modernised in 2012 / 2013. The entire platform system now meets the requirements set out in the Swiss Disability Discrimination Act (DDA). BLS has additionally erected sound-protection walls around the train station to protect neighbouring residential areas.

    Key construction phases

    On 2 June 2015, the final explosive charge was detonated in the tunnel. The last metres of rock in the upper half of the 1910-metre-long mountain tunnel passage was thereby excavated.

    After the breakthrough in mid-2015, the interior construction of the tunnel was completed by mid-2017. Thereafter, BLS installed the track, overhead lines and all control and safety systems in the tunnel, so that it could be commissioned in autumn 2018.

    From 2018, the decommissioning of the old section will get under way. The single-track tunnel, which is over 110 years old and features tunnel portals of hand-chiselled stone, will be preserved as a historic monument. To this end, it will be restored as much as necessary. However, it will not be accessible to the public. The decommissioned section will be completely dismantled, and the canalised Flüelebach brook restored to its natural condition. The Schnuremüli bridge will also be restored.

    BLS will complete the project – including the finishing work, such as the ecological restoration and removal of construction-site trails – by 2020.

    How is a tunnel constructed?

    BLS began the excavation work on the tunnel in spring 2013. Excavating the rock, which is predominantly sandstone and marl, posed a great challenge, as the material becomes quickly unstable when in contact with air and water. Due to these difficult geological conditions, the excavation method was changed in January 2014. Instead of fully excavating from the east, as was the original plan, the project switched to using so-called calotte excavation with a pipe screen.

    Here the upper half of the tunnel, or calotte, is excavated first. Steel pipes are drilled into the tunnel roof like a protective shield before the excavation of a section begins. Only once the calotte has been broken through is the lower half of the tunnel, the bench, excavated in a second phase.

    Following the breakthrough, the step-like indentations in the tunnel’s dome created by the drilling of the pipe screen need to be filled in with sprayed concrete. This is because the interior construction of the tunnel and the cladding of waterproof foil require as even a surface as possible. Filling these “wedges” takes three to four months.

    Thereafter, the excavation of the bench, the lower tunnel half, can begin.

    Blasting a tunnel

    And this is how blasting works:

    1. Pipe screen
      15-metre-long pipes are drilled into the rock at the edge of the excavation. They form a protective screen below which the tunnel can be excavated.
    2. Blasting
      Beneath the pipe screen, the rock is blasted out in approx. 2-metre-long sections.
    3. Rubble removal
      A wheel loader shovels the excavated rock into dump trucks, which then transport it to the dump.
    4. Steel arches
      The excavated section is secured with steel arches spaced at one-metre intervals.
    5. Concrete
      The dome and walls between the steel arches are secured with concrete.
    6. Additional excavation material
      Excavating with a pipe screen created more excavation material than with the originally intended excavation method.
      At the same time, more gravel is needed for the tunnel construction than calculated.
    7. Zigzag profile
      Following the breakthrough, the step-like indentations in the tunnel’s dome created by the drilling of the pipe screen need to be filled in with sprayed concrete.
    0 of 0 Media files

      The breakthrough

      0 of 0 Media files

        Bench excavation

        0 of 0 Media files

          Interior construction

          0 of 0 Media files

            Environmentally friendly measures

            On its western perimeter, the construction project borders on a nature reserve that is difficult to access. Various measures contribute to minimising or compensating for the impact on nature, the landscape and the environment.

            • Decommissioning the old section
            • Ecologically restoring the Flüelebach brook
            • Installing the intersecting BKW overhead lines in the ground
            • Design concept appropriate to the landscape and residential area
            • Optimised material management

            Ecological restoration of the Flüelebach brook

            The Flüelebach brook, which has been canalised and is largely covered by the rail embankment, is to be restored to its original bed. The ecological restoration will benefit the habitat of roe deer, foxes, badgers, hares, red deer and beavers. The area will also become popular for local recreation.

            Smart material management

            Around 420,000 cubic metres of rubble will be created during the tunnel excavation, all of which needs to be removed. And around 330,000 cubic metres of gravel needs to be brought on site as a building material and to create concrete. BLS literally moves mountains. In order to transport the material in a way that is as sensitive to residents and the environment as possible, the company proceeds as follows:

            • Gravel pickup and rubble depositing in Mäderforst near the tunnel construction site.
            • Removal of rubble through the tunnel and via the construction-site trail
            • Mixing concrete on the construction site in this way helps avoid long transport miles and clogging up public roads with numerous trucks.
            0 of 0 Media files

              Reducing the impact of the construction site

              Construction traffic and school-route safety

              Despite smart material management, around 140 truck consignments to and from the construction site are necessary each day. This equates to one truck every four minutes. During intensive phases, this figure can increase considerably. This poses a danger to school children in particular. For this reason, BLS has worked with the communities to put numerous school-route safety measures in place. These include a cycle route along the old Bern road by Heggidorn, structural modifications along the transport routes, a reduction of the speed limit, traffic briefings, and a school bus service.

              Tree clearing and reforestation

              For the gravel pit in Mäderforst and the embankment construction, tree clearing is unavoidable. The cleared areas will be fully reforested once construction is completed; where this is not possible, compensatory reforesting will be carried out elsewhere.

              Walking trail around the tunnel construction site

              Around the construction site on foot

              The construction site can be circled around on walking trails. Please adhere to the signposted footpaths and walking trails! Thank you for caring for nature and taking your litter home with you.

              Approximate walking times:
              Info centre–Schnurrenmühle–Flüelenmüli: approx. 1½ hours
              Info centre–Spengelried–Flüelenmüli: approx. 1¼ hours

              Additional information can be found on the walking map.

              0 of 0 Media files
                Kundenmagazin «gazette»
                Bald brausen die Züge durch den Tunnel

                Gute Nachrichten für BLS-Reisende: Bald fahren die ersten Züge durch den Rosshäuserntunnel. Seit Anfang Juli wird die Bahntechnik eingebaut, die Inbetriebnahme ist für Anfang September 2018 geplant.

                lesen
                Construction projects
                Nachtarbeiten
                Construction noise and other disruptions

                Where there’s construction work, there’s noise

                More
                Projects and background
                Barrier-free travel
                More
                Newsletter

Bauprojekte

Doppelspurausbau Rosshäusern–Mauss

Die BLS hat zwischen 2012 und 2018 eine neue Doppelspurstrecke zwischen Rosshäusern und Mauss erstellt. Das Kernstück bildet der neue, zwei Kilometer lange Rosshäuserntunnel. Er ist seit dem 3. September 2018 in Betrieb und ersetzt einen kurvenreichen Abschnitt mitsamt Einspurtunnel aus dem Jahr 1901. Die neue Doppelspurstrecke verkürzt die Fahrzeit und bildet die Voraussetzung für künftige Angebotsverbesserungen.

Die 43 Kilometer lange Eisenbahnstrecke Bern–Kerzers–Neuchâtel verfügt über zwei Drittel über nur ein Gleis. Das schränkt die Leistungsfähigkeit ein, erschwert die Fahrplangestaltung und macht die Züge anfällig für Verspätungen. Ein Nadelöhr bildete insbesondere der 3.7 Kilometer lange Abschnitt zwischen dem Bahnhof Rosshäusern und dem Saaneviadukt. Dieser Streckenteil wurde kürzlich auf zwei Spuren ausgebaut. Die neue Doppelspur ermöglicht eine höhere Pünktlichkeit der Züge. Bis 2020 führt die BLS Rekultivierungs- und Renaturierungsarbeiten durch. Die alte Strecke wird rückgebaut, jedoch bleibt der Tunnel aus dem Jahr 1901 als Zeitzeuge erhalten. 

0 aus 0 Mediendateien

    Eckdaten des Doppelspurausbaus

    Baubeginn: 2012

    Inbetriebnahme: 3. September 2018. Abschlussarbeiten bis 2020

    Kosten: Die Gesamtkosten für den Doppelspurausbau inklusive Erneuerung des Bahnhofs Rosshäusern beliefen sich auf rund 265 Mio. Franken. Der Bund und die Kantone Bern, Freiburg und Neuenburg beteiligen sich finanziell am Doppelspurausbau.

    Was bringt das Projekt

    Die neu weitgehend gerade Linienführung verkürzt die Strecke um 300 m und erlaubt es den Zügen, mit bis zu 160 statt mit 90 km/h zu verkehren. Damit verringert sich die Fahrzeit auf der Strecke Bern–Neuenburg.

    • Der Doppelspurausbau bedeutet für die Reisenden pünktlichere Züge auf der Strecke Bern–Neuchâtel und für die BLS eine Erhöhung der betrieblichen Flexibilität. Mit einer längeren Doppelspur müssen sich kreuzende Züge nicht mehr abwarten. Verspätungen wirken sich so weniger schnell auf weitere Züge aus. 
    • Der Doppelspurtunnel entspricht den neusten Sicherheitsstandards. Als Notausstieg existiert in der Mitte des Tunnels ein 50 m hoher Schacht mit Treppe und Lift. Er tritt in der Nähe des Weilers Rosshäusern als kleiner Rundbau an die Oberfläche. Der kurvenreiche Abschnitt wurde begradigt und aufwendige Sanierungsarbeiten der alten Strecke samt altem Tunnel blieben erspart.
    • Der Bahnhof Rosshäusern war bereits 2012 / 2013 umfassend modernisiert worden. Die gesamte Perronanlage entspricht neu den Vorgaben des Behindertengleichstellungsgesetztes (BehiG). Im Umfeld des Bahnhofs hat die BLS zusätzlich Lärmschutzwände errichtet, um die angrenzenden Wohngebiete zu schützen.

    Wichtige Etappen der Baustelle

    Am 2. Juni 2015 wurde die letzte Sprengladung im Tunnel gezündet. Die letzten Meter Gestein der 1910 m langen bergmännischen Tunnelröhre wurden damit in der oberen Hälfte ausgebrochen. 

    Bis Mitte 2017 wurde der Rohbau abgeschlossen. Anschliessend baute die BLS Fahrbahn, Fahrleitungen sowie sämtliche Kontroll- und Sicherheitssysteme im Tunnel ein, so dass im Herbst 2018 die Inbetriebnahme erfolgen konnte. 

    Ab 2018 findet der Rückbau der alten Bahnstrecke statt. Der über 110 Jahre alte Einspurtunnel mit seinen in Haustein gemauerten Tunnelportalen bleibt als historischer Zeuge erhalten. Dazu wird er so weit als nötig saniert. Für die Öffentlichkeit wird er aber nicht zugänglich sein. Die nicht mehr benutzte Bahnstrecke wird komplett zurückgebaut und der kanalisierte Flüelebach renaturiert. Dabei wird auch die Brücke bei der Schnuremüli saniert.

    Das Projekt mitsamt Abschlussarbeiten wie Renaturierungen und Entfernung von Baupisten wird die BLS bis 2020 fertigstellen.

    Wie entsteht ein Tunnel?

    Mit den Ausbrucharbeiten im Tunnel hat die BLS im Frühling 2013 begonnen. Der Ausbruch im mehrheitlich aus Sandstein und Mergel bestehenden Fels stellte eine grosse Herausforderung dar, denn das Material wird beim Kontakt mit Luft und Wasser rasch instabil. Wegen dieser schwierigen geologischen Verhältnisse wurde die Vortriebsmethode im Januar 2014 umgestellt. Statt dem bis anhin angewandten Vollausbruch von Osten her kam der sogenannte Kalottenvortrieb mit Rohrschirm zur Anwendung. 

    Dabei wird zunächst nur die obere Tunnelhälfte, die Kalotte, ausgebrochen. Wie ein Schutzschirm werden vor dem Ausbruch eines Abschnitts Stahlrohre in die Tunneldecke gebohrt. Erst nach dem Durchbruch der Kalotte wird in einem zweiten Durchgang die untere Tunnelhälfte, die Strosse, abgetragen.

    Nach dem Durchschlag müssen zunächst die durch die Rohrschirmbohrungen entstandenen, treppenartigen Absätze im Tunnelgewölbe mit Spritzbeton aufgefüllt werden. Denn der Innenausbau des Tunnels und die Verkleidung mit einer wasserabdichtenden Folie erfordern eine möglichst ebene Oberfläche. Das Auffüllen dieser «Spickel» dauert drei bis vier Monate.

    Danach kann mit dem Abbau der Strosse, der unteren Tunnelhälfte, begonnen werden. 

    Tunnel ausbrechen im Sprengvortrieb 

    Und so funktioniert der Sprengvortrieb: 

    1. Rohrschirm
      15 m lange Rohre werden am Rand des Ausbruchs in den Fels gebohrt. Sie bilden einen Schutzschirm, unter welchem der Ausbruch des Tunnels erfolgen kann.
    2. Sprengen
      Unter dem Rohrschirm wird der Fels in ca. 2 m langen Etappen herausgesprengt.
    3. Schuttern
      Ein Pneulader schaufelt das ausgebrochene Felsmaterial auf Dumper, welche es zur Deponie transportieren.
    4. Stahlbogen
      Der freigelegte Abschnitt wird mit Stahlbogen in einem Abstand von einem Meter gesichert.
    5. Beton
      Gewölbe und Wände werden zwischen den Stahlbogen mit Beton gesichert.
    6. Zusätzliches Ausbruchmaterial
      Durch die Rohrschirmbohrungen fällt mehr Ausbruchmaterial an als mit der ursprünglich vorgesehenen Vortriebsmethode.
      Gleichzeitig wird für den Tunnelbau auch mehr Kies benötigt als berechnet.
    7. Zackenprofil füllen
      Nach dem Durchschlag müssen die durch die Rohrschirmbohrungen entstandenen, treppenartigen Absätze im Tunnelgewölbe mit Spritzbeton aufgefüllt werden.
    0 aus 0 Mediendateien

      Der Durchschlag 

      0 aus 0 Mediendateien

        Strossabbau

        0 aus 0 Mediendateien

          Innenausbau

          0 aus 0 Mediendateien

            Massnahmen zugunsten der Umwelt

            Das Bauvorhaben tangiert auf der Westseite ein schwer zugängliches Naturschutzgebiet. Verschiedene Massnahmen tragen dazu bei, die Eingriffe für Natur, Landschaft und Umwelt möglichst gering zu halten oder zu kompensieren:

            • Rückbau der alten Strecke
            • Renaturierung des Flüelebachs
            • Verlegung der querenden BKW-Freileitung in den Boden
            • Landschafts- und siedlungsverträgliches Gestaltungskonzept
            • Optimierte Materialbewirtschaftung 

            Renaturierung Flüelebach

            Der kanalisierte und grösstenteils vom Trassee überdeckte Flüelebach soll wieder seinem natürlichen Lauf folgen können. Die Renaturierung ist für die Lebensräume von Reh, Fuchs, Dachs, Feldhase, Hirsch und Biber ein Gewinn. Attraktiv wird das Gebiet auch für die Naherholung.

            Kluge Materialbewirtschaftung

            Beim Tunnelausbruch fällt rund 420'000 Kubikmeter Material an, das abgelagert sein will. Umgekehrt wird auf der Baustelle rund 330'000 Kubikmeter Kies als Baumaterial und zur Betonherstellung benötigt. Die BLS versetzt buchstäblich Berge. Um den Materialtransport möglichst schonend für Anwohnerschaft und Umwelt abzuwickeln, geht sie wie folgt vor:

            • Kiesabbau und Materialauffüllung im Mäderforst nahe der Tunnelbaustelle
            • Abtransport des Ausbruchmaterials durch den Tunnel und über die Baupiste
            • Betonherstellung auf der Baustelle Auf diese Weise lassen sich weite Transportwege und zahlreiche Lastwagenfahrten auf den öffentlichen Strassen vermeiden.
            0 aus 0 Mediendateien

              Die Auswirkungen der Baustelle mildern

              Baustellenverkehr und Schulwegsicherung

              Trotz kluger Materialbewirtschaftung sind im Schnitt pro Tag rund 140 Baustellentransporte über die Strasse nötig, das bedeutet alle 4 Minuten ein Lastwagen. Während Intensivphasen können es deutlich mehr sein. Dies stellt insbesondere für die Schulkinder eine Gefahr dar. Die BLS hat deshalb zusammen mit den Gemeinden zahlreiche Massnahmen für die Sicherung der Schulwege umgesetzt: u.a. einen Veloweg entlang der alten Bernstrasse bei Heggidorn, bauliche Umgestaltungen entlang der Transportrouten, eine Senkung der Tempolimite, Verkehrsinstruktionen und einen Schulbusdienst.

              Rodungen und Wiederaufforstungen

              Für die Kiesgrube im Mäderforst wie auch für den Trasseebau sind Rodungen unumgänglich. Die gerodeten Flächen werden nach Abschluss der Arbeiten vollständig wieder aufgeforstet, wo dies nicht möglich ist, erfolgen Ersatzaufforstungen an anderer Stelle.

              Wanderweg um die Tunnelbaustelle

              Zu Fuss um die Baustelle

              Die Bahnbaustelle lässt sich auf Wanderwegen umrunden. Bitte bleiben Sie auf den signalisierten Fuss- und Wanderwegen! Danke, dass Sie Sorge zur Natur tragen und Ihre  Abfälle wieder mitnehmen.

              Ungefähre Wanderzeiten:
              Info-Zentrum–Schnurrenmühle–Flüelenmüli: ca. 1½ Stunden
              Info-Zentrum–Spengelried–Flüelenmüli: ca. 1¼ Stunden

              Weitere Informationen auf der Wanderkarte.

              0 aus 0 Mediendateien
                Kundenmagazin «gazette»
                Bald brausen die Züge durch den Tunnel

                Gute Nachrichten für BLS-Reisende: Bald fahren die ersten Züge durch den Rosshäuserntunnel. Seit Anfang Juli wird die Bahntechnik eingebaut, die Inbetriebnahme ist für Anfang September 2018 geplant.

                lesen
                Bauprojekte
                Nachtarbeiten
                Baulärm und andere Beeinträchtigungen

                Wo gebaut wird, gibt’s Lärm

                Mehr
                Projekte & Hintergründe
                Barrierefrei reisen
                Mehr
                Newsletter