Bijouland

The Lake Murten region

Murten, Avenches, Seeland district

The medieval town of Murten and the Roman town of Avenches are a gateway to a bygone age. On the shores of Lake Murten or during an adventure in the Three lakes region or the wine-growing region of Mont Vully, you are bound to get that holiday feeling. The Lake Murten region enchants with its Mediterranean charm. A stay in the Lake Murten region is like travelling through time. The romantic town of Murtin, with its cosy arcades, beautifully preserved houses and accessible encircling town wall, enchants every visitor. Located nearby, Avenches allows visitors to follow in the footsteps of the Romans. You can immerse yourself in a long-vanished era with a visit to the Roman Museum and a tour of the amphitheatre. When strolling through modern-day Avenches, you will find yourself surrounded by the simple charm of its medieval architecture. The shores of Lake Murten can be walked along in many areas. Cyclists appreciate the Three lakes region, where they can effortlessly explore all the diversity of the local countryside on two wheels.

Carnival

In March of every year, the two picturesque medieval towns mark the end of winter with carnival celebrations. After months of preparation, the time has finally come: carnival clubs, carnival musicians and lots of costumed carnival revellers form a procession through the avenues. The colourful goings-on last three days and nights. Each year, the procession of colourfully decorated carnival floats on Sunday afternoon marks the highlight of carnival. Anyone who enjoys loud music, colourful costumes and a cheerful, celebratory atmosphere should visit the carnival. 

Adventures in the Kerzers Signal Tower

To be a railway controller – that’s the childhood dream of many people both young and old. And it’s a dream that can come true in Switzerland's oldest preserved signal tower. Here little, big and grown-up children alike become signalmen or railway controllers, and shunt trains from one track to the other using lever, light and sound signals. The signal tower, which was built in 1901, has been renovated and preserved thanks to the Kerzers Signal Tower Association and the help of many volunteers. Guided tours are offered on request.

The Roman town of Aventicum

Two millennia ago, the former capital of Roman Helvetia, Aventicum, had almost 20,000 inhabitants. Today, Avenches is one of Switzerland's most archaeologically significant cities. Numerous historic monuments stand as testimony of its erstwhile greatness.

In 15 BC, the Romans annexed all the territory of modern-day Switzerland. Aventicum became the capital city of the Helvetians. The city not only enjoyed an ideal strategic position beside the road network of that era, but was also connected to shipping lanes via a river channel which joined the suburbs with a port by Lake Murten. Under Emperor Vespasian, the city was elevated to colony status in around 71/72 AD. The majority of the historic monuments still visible today were constructed after this period. Today, the Roman site of Aventicum offers its visitors numerous important relics: the amphitheatre, which is also the setting of spectacular performances; the Roman theatre; the baths of the Forum; the Cigognier temple; the Eastern gate; and the famous Tornallaz tower, the sole survivor of the 73 erstwhile towers of the Roman city wall. The archaeological findings of Aventicum are exhibited in Avenches’ Roman Museum.

Arrival of the Trojan elephant in Murten

Since 25 June 2016, the grounds of the Historical Museum in Murten have been home to a life-sized Trojan elephant. This objet d’art, which is accessible to the public, serves as a reminder of the tragic story that unfolded in Murten 150 years ago.

In the summer of 1866, an American circus was visiting Murten. Its great attraction was its two trained elephants. On the day after the performance, one of the two elephants escaped its enclosure, killing the elephant keeper in the process. The animal, which had grown manic, then ran through the town. As no one was able to tame the elephant, there was no choice but to kill it – with a cannon ball, which had been ordered from Fribourg. Since then, the lower part of the Rathausgasse, or Town Hall Alley, where this tragedy played out has also been known as Elefantengasse, or Elephant Alley. The aforementioned cannon ball can be viewed in Murten’s Historical Museum. The elephant’s skeleton is exhibited in the Bern Natural History Museum.

How was the famous Nidlechueche cake invented?

One legend has it that the delicate Nidlechueche cake was created in the oven houses. In times gone by, people baked their bread together in oven houses. Back then, it was done without thermometers. To check the oven’s temperature, scraps of flattened dough were shoved into the oven. The oven’s temperature could be gauged based on how quickly the dough baked. A baker had the idea of adding some Nidle (cream) and sugar on top of these dough scraps. It turned out that the sugar caramelised wonderfully, creating a delicious cake. Today, the Murten region is famous for this legendary Nidlechueche. It can be bought in all the local bakeries.
0 Media files
    Bijouland
    Zug bei der Ausfahrt aus dem Bahnhof La Chaux-de-Fonds
    Your way to the Bijouland
    More
    Bijouland
    Zwei Freundinnen informieren sich über Kopfhörer über die Ausstellung im Museum.
    Lake Murten, Neuchâtel and Neuchâtel Jura excursions
    Discover
    Newsletter

Willkommen im Bijouland

Region Murtensee

Murten, Avenches, Seeland

Das mittelalterliche Städtchen Murten und die Römerstadt Avenches führen in vergangene Zeiten. Am Ufer des Murtensees, bei Aktivitäten im Drei-Seen-Land oder im Weinbaugebiet des Mont Vully kommt bestimmt Ferienstimmung auf. Die Region Murtensee bezaubert mit ihrem mediterranen Charme. Ein Aufenthalt in der Region Murtensee gleicht einer Zeitreise. Das romantische Städtchen Murten mit seinen lauschigen Lauben, den wunderschönen erhaltenen Häusern und der begehbaren Ringmauer bezaubert alle Besuchenden. Unweit davon begibt man sich in Avenches auf die Spuren der Römer. Mit einem Besuch im Römermuseum und einer Besichtigung des Amphitheaters lässt sich in längst vergangene Zeiten eintauchen. Bei einem Bummel durch das heutige Avenches begegnet man überall dem schlichten Charme der Mittelalterarchitektur. Das Murtenseeufer lädt vielerorts zum Flanieren ein. Velofahrerinnen und Velofahrer schätzen das Drei-Seen-Land, wo sich die ganze landschaftliche Vielfalt der Region mühelos auf Rädern entdecken lässt.

Fasnacht

Die beiden malerischen Mittelalterstädte läuten mit der Fastnacht jedes Jahr im März das Ende des Winters ein. Nach monatelangen Vorbereitungen ist es endlich soweit: Fastnachtsgruppen, Guggenmusiken und viele verkleidete Fastnächtler ziehen durch die Gassen. Drei Tage und Nächte dauert das bunte Treiben. Höhepunkt ist jeweils am Sonntagnachmittag der Umzug mit kunstvoll dekorierten Fastnachtswagen. Wer laute Klänge, farbige Kostüme und fröhliche, ausgelassene Stimmung mag, geht hin.

Erlebnis im Stellwerk Kerzers

Einmal selber Bahnhofvorsteher sein! Das ist der Kindheitstraum von vielen Grossen und Kleinen. Im ältesten noch erhaltenen Stellwerk der Schweiz ist dies möglich. Dort werden kleine, grosse und erwachsene Kinder zum Fahrdienstleiter oder Bahnhofchef und können Züge mittels Hebel, Licht- und Tonsignalen von einem Gleis aufs andere bewegen. Das Stellwerk aus dem Jahre 1901 konnte dank dem Verein Stellwerk Kerzers und dem Einsatz vieler Freiwilligen saniert und erhalten werden. Auf Anfrage werden Führungen angeboten.

Römerstadt Aventicum

Aventicum, einst Hauptstadt des römischen Helvetiens, zählte vor zwei Jahrtausenden fast 20'000 Einwohner. Heute ist Avenches eine der bedeutendsten archäologischen Stätten der Schweiz. Zahlreiche Baudenkmäler zeugen von der einstigen Grösse.

Im Jahr 15 vor Christus annektierten die Römer sämtliche Gebiete der heutigen Schweiz. Aventicum wurde Hauptstadt der Helvetier. Die Stadt befand sich nicht nur an strategisch optimaler Lage am damaligen Strassennetz, sondern war auch an die Schifffahrt angebunden. Dies über einen Flusskanal, der die Vorstadt mit einem Hafen am Murtensee verband. Unter Kaiser Vespasian wurde die Stadt um 71/72 nach Christus in den Rang einer Kolonie erhoben. Der Grossteil der heute noch sichtbaren Baudenkmäler wurde nach dieser Zeit erstellt. Heute bietet die Römerstätte Aventicum ihren Besuchern zahlreiche bedeutende Überreste: das Amphitheater, auch Kulisse grandioser Aufführungen, das römische Theater, die Thermen des Forums, das Cigognier-Heiligtum, das Osttor sowie den berühmten Tornallaz-Turm, der als einziger der einst 73 Türme der römischen Ringmauer erhalten ist. Die Ausgrabungsfunde von Aventicum sind im Römermuseum in Avenches ausgestellt.

Einzug des Trojanischen Elefanten in Murten

Seit dem 25. Juni 2016 steht auf dem Areal des Historischen Museums in Murten ein lebensgrosser Trojanischer Elefant. Das begehbare Kunstobjekt ist eine Erinnerung an die tragische Geschichte, welche sich vor 150 Jahren in Murten ereignet hat.

Im Sommer 1866 gastierte ein amerikanischer Zirkus in Murten. Die grosse Attraktion waren zwei dressierte Elefanten. Als am Tag nach der Vorstellung einer der beiden Elefanten aus seiner Stallung rannte, tötete er dabei den Elefantenwärter. Anschliessend rannte das wild gewordene Tier durch das Städtchen. Da ihn niemand mehr bändigen konnte, blieb nichts anderes übrig als ihn zu töten – mit einer Kanonenkugel, die man in Freiburg angefordert hatte. Seither nennt man den unteren Teil der Rathausgasse, wo sich diese tragische Geschichte ereignete, auch Elefantengasse. Im Historischen Museum Murten ist die besagte Kanonenkugel zu besichtigen. Das Skelett des Elefanten steht im Naturhistorischen Museum in Bern.

Wie entstand der bekannte Nidlechueche?

Eine Legende erzählt, dass der feine Nidlechueche in den Ofenhäusern entstanden ist. Früher hat man in den Ofenhäusern gemeinsam Brot gebacken. Damals noch ohne Thermometer. Um die Ofentemperatur zu überprüfen, wurden flach ausgewallte Teigreste in den Ofen geschoben. Je nach dem wie schnell dieser Teig gebacken war, konnte man die Temperatur abschätzen. Ein Bäcker hatte die Idee, auf diesen Teigresten noch etwas Nidle (Rahm) und Zucker zu verteilen. Dabei stellte man fest, dass dieser Zucker wunderbar karamellisierte und ein feiner Kuchen entstand. Heute ist die Region Murten bekannt für diesen legendären Nidlechueche. Man kann ihn in allen ortsansässigen Bäckereien kaufen.
0 aus 0 Mediendateien
    Entdecken
    Willkommen im Bijouland
    Zug bei der Ausfahrt aus dem Bahnhof La Chaux-de-Fonds
    Ihr Weg ins Bijouland
    Mehr
    Bijouland
    Spass mit der Familie
    Ausflüge Murtensee, Neuchâtel und Neuenburger Jura
    entdecken
    Newsletter